Chris Monforton appointed to Federal Home Loan Bank of Dallas’ 2017 Affordable Housing Advisory Council

Federal Home Loan Bank of Dallas Announces 2017 Advisory Council Members

DALLAS–(BUSINESS WIRE)–The Federal Home Loan Bank of Dallas (FHLB Dallas) is pleased to announce the appointments of Chris Monforton, Angela Curry, Jeff Curry (no relation to Ms. Curry) and Michelle Den Bleyker to the Bank’s 2017 Affordable Housing Advisory Council (Council). André Stephens and Jacque Haas Woodring were reappointed to the Council.

.@FHLBDallas announces appointments to the 2017 Affordable Housing Advisory Council.
Tweet this
All appointments began January 1. Mr. Monforton, Mr. Curry and Ms. Den Bleyker will serve three-year terms that will expire on December 31, 2019. Ms. Curry will serve a two-year term that will expire on December 31, 2018.

The Council is comprised of 13 representatives from state, community and nonprofit organizations who advise FHLB Dallas’ Board of Directors (Board) on affordable housing and economic development issues. Council members are appointed by the FHLB Dallas Board.

Newly Appointed Members:

Chris Monforton is the chief executive officer of Habitat for Humanity/Mississippi Gulf Coast (HFH/MGC) and has worked for Habitat for Humanity since 1999. As the chief executive officer, Mr. Monforton manages the execution of the organization’s strategic planning in conjunction with the board of directors in Gulfport, Mississippi. He provides thought leadership and drives innovation in housing and community development in local markets and the larger Habitat network. Mr. Monforton has also been a Habitat for Humanity International (HFHI) Council member since 2013. As the chair of the Finance and Resource Development Committee, he led the task force of HFHI staff and affiliate representatives in “Modernization of HFHI Collaborative Development Handbook.” He also led the “Pricing & Alternative Finance Options” task force and co-authored a document resulting in white paper and policy recommendations.
Angela Curry has been the executive director of Greenwood-Leflore-Carroll Economic Development Foundation (GLC/EDF) in Greenwood, Mississippi, since 2008 and has worked for the organization since 1998. As the executive director, Ms. Curry is responsible for leading the economic/community development marketing activities and strategies for the service area, including job recruitment and retention, creating and sustaining professional relationships with existing businesses and resource partners, event planning and office management. Ms. Curry is affiliated with the Southern Economic Development Council, Mississippi Economic Development Council and the Mississippi Delta Developers Association. In addition, she serves or has served in the following capacities: Board member of Greenwood Tourism Commission, board member of Greenwood MainStreet Association and Advisory Board of Planters Bank and Trust.
Jeff Curry has been the director of development for JL Gray Company in Las Cruces, New Mexico, since 2004. He manages the company’s acquisition and development of new housing, as well as the rehabilitation of existing properties. The JL Gray Company is a for-profit management and development organization that has specialized in multifamily affordable housing for more than 30 years. Mr. Curry has been involved with affordable housing most of his career and has served in the following capacities: Board secretary and director of Development at JL Gray Company; Secretary at Southwest Affordable Housing Group; Member of Southern Colorado Apartment Association; and member of Citizen’s Bank of Las Cruces Board of Councilors.
Michelle Den Bleyker is the vice president of Real Estate Development for YES Housing, Inc. in Midland, Texas. Ms. Den Bleyker’s responsibilities include supporting all real estate development activities, utilizing low income housing tax credits, conventional loans, as well as state and federal grant and loan programs. She also coordinates land acquisition and purchase, loan closings, construction oversight and transition of properties to management. Prior to joining YES Housing, Inc., Ms. Den Bleyker was the vice president of development for Commonwealth Development Corporation where she directed all real estate development activities in Texas, Oklahoma and New Mexico. She has previously also held various positions at the New Mexico Mortgage Finance Authority (MFA) where she analyzed and oversaw new housing development proposals for MFA’s loan programs, analyzed financial proformas and reviewed legal and real estate documents. She previously served on the FHLB Dallas Advisory Council from 2012-2015 as a representative for New Mexico and has more than 20 years of professional experience in affordable housing development.
Reappointed Members:

André Stephens (Chair) is the executive director of St. Francis Community Development Corporation in Forrest City, Arkansas. Mr. Stephens has more than 20 years of experience in rural development, utilizing both public and private sector funding mechanisms for various projects. He has served on the regional loan committee for the Enterprise Corporation of the Delta, and served as a board member for the National Congress for Community Economic Development and the Southern Rural Development Initiative. Mr. Stephens currently serves as a member of the Arkansas State Taskforce for Poverty Elimination. Mr. Stephens serves as chairman of the Council.
Jacque Haas Woodring is director of Asset Development for Housing and Community Services, Inc., in Boerne, Texas, where she manages site, property and building development including asset acquisition in South Texas. She also directs the financing and refinancing efforts of new and existing FHA and conventional mortgages on multifamily communities. In addition, Ms. Woodring is a board member of Commonwealth Multifamily Housing Corporation and previously spent more than eight years as a real estate development manager for Nevada HAND in Las Vegas, Nevada.
The remaining members of the Advisory Council are:

Ms. Karen Phillips
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Deputy Director
Crawford Sebastian CDC

Ms. Arlene Leviege
Marksville, Louisiana
Housing Program Manager
Tunica-Biloxi Housing Authority

Ms. Michelle Whetten
New Orleans, Louisiana
Vice President and Impact Market Leader Gulf Coast
Enterprise Community Partners, Inc.

Mr. Scott Spivey
Jackson, Mississippi
Executive Director
Mississippi Home Corporation

Mr. Felipe Rael
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Executive Director
Greater Albuquerque Housing Partnership

Mr. Matt Hull
Austin, Texas
Executive Director
Texas Association of CDCs

Mr. Tim Pierce (Vice Chairman)
Lubbock, Texas
Executive Director
South Plains Association of Governments

About the Federal Home Loan Bank of Dallas

The Federal Home Loan Bank of Dallas is one of 11 district banks in the FHLBank system created by Congress in 1932. FHLB Dallas, with total assets of $58.4 billion as of September 30, 2016, is a member-owned cooperative that supports housing and community development by providing competitively priced advances and other credit products to approximately 850 members and associated institutions in Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, New Mexico, and Texas. Visit for more information.

Federal Home Loan Bank of Dallas
Corporate Communications, 214-441-8445



Original article can be found here: